As a film student…

As a film student this past year I have completely engulfed myself in all things related. I have taken film productions class, analysis classes, television production classes, theory classes and so far all of it fascinates me.

The one thing that has fascinated me most of all is that everything is so deliberate. Every light, every prop, every piece of dialogue, every movement of the camera is so precisely planned and executed with a huge crew. The average person does not realize how much time and planning goes into each shot. Its incredible the amount of time and precision it takes to film a single scene. If one thing is slightly off, its onto another take.

People say that taking film classes takes the magic out of the movies but I think it allows for you to appreciate how magical it truly is. A film crew works like a well oiled machine, every part is necessary for the production to work.

Within my first year of being a film major at Fairfield University I have been on many student film shoots. My first shoot I was the boom operator and after that I was first AC (assistant camera) who is responsible for building camera, lens changes, spotting the cinematographer on difficult moves while using a Steadicam or a dolly, slating, and keeping track of each shot.  By the end of the year I directed my own short for class. Coming into college I wanted to specifically edit. Although I do really enjoy editing my own  shorts I am open to all the possible career avenues film has to offer.

Leave a comment